Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Thromby Air – New Budget Airline ‘Lowest of The Low’


Okay, so this is something a bit light-hearted, and it certainly brightened up my day and made me chuckle… Actually that is an understatement, I had tears in my eyes from laughing so much!  I got an email today from someone called Richard E. Coli, who claimed to be the CEO of a new budget airline called Thromby Air.  The email read as follows:

Hi,

Just a quick update regarding some recent innovations at Thromby Air.

We have heard much discussion of “standing room only” plans of some
of our Low Cost airline competitors.  Thromby has done better…
Following a lengthy development program based on the Tetris computer
game, our new high density passenger loading plan is ready for launch.
You can read about it here.

As if that isn’t brilliant enough, we have also announced a new preferred
seating program called “Thromby-Bay”.  With this revolutionary system
passengers are able to bid for their preferred seat.  Why pay a fixed price
to sit near the front and still find yourself seated next to a sweaty tap
salesman who wants to tell you his life’s story?  Bid to get the seat, and
neighbor, of your choice*.  Learn more about Thromby-Bay here.

Remember, nobody cares more about your money than Thromby Air.

Regards,

Robert E. Coli
CEO Thromby Air – Lowest of the Low
www.thrombyair.com

…Intrigued, I HAD to check out the site… I can’t remember the last time that I laughed that much…

I especially liked their complaints section and their in the news page (this page is probably my favourite of all of them, as it is a collection of all of the most far fetched, but scarily close-to-the bone humour of the whole site)… The whole site is an absolute riot, and very clever!  I urge you to click on each and every page on the site and have a good giggle… This is definitely on to watch girls and gals!

One very funny thing, and I’m pretty sure it was unintentional on the part of the advertising companies, is that airlines including Easy Jet, KLM, and others had an adverts on the site! HAHAHAHAHA! It’s either sheer brilliance or ignorant irony on the part of any budget airline to advertise and link themselves with this site…

I was also highly amused that on the Thromby Air Management Training Page the ads that google ads had generated (through key work rich tagging systems) were actually from bona-fide Speech and Management training companies!  either way, it only added to my joy.  In fairness, this site is far more aligned to the famously ridiculous PR circus that Michael O’Leary plays with Ryanair, rather than Easy Jet… Though, being a US based site, I imagine it’s just a big old mish-mash of humour based on the wide array of Budget Airline PR that has amused us over the years.

I will now forever think of SLAPs (Surcharges for Low Awareness Passengers) when I hear about the ‘hidden’ charges that airlines are imposing on passengers for silly ‘extras’

To the brain behind Thromby Air and ‘Richard E. Coli’, thank you, what a terrific site.. I hope you continue to add to it and provide us all with plenty of laughter!

3 Responses to “Thromby Air – New Budget Airline ‘Lowest of The Low’”

  1. Dear Partner of a Pilot,

    Thank you for you kind review of Thromby Air… We are far too stingy to pay for real advertising so such publicity is as good as we can hope for.

    We love your website as it seems, despite our best efforts at eliminating pilots from our flight decks, that we will continue to need pilots for some time. And, the sad truth is, pilots have lives, and partners. And sometimes partners need to talk to other people who understand their world.

    Thromby Air understands, but cannot afford to listen, so it is up to you-all to support each other. Then, if you find things a little tough, grab your spouse-unit by the scruff and drag him/her away for a well-earned Thromby Package Holiday. These are the kinds of experiences that remind you that things are not really that bad!

    And you thought Thromby Air did not care?

    Regards,
    Robert E. Coli
    CEO Thromby Air – Lowest of the Low
    http://www.thrombyair.com

    • Why thank you! A personal message from the CEO? I am honoured. I have decided that an opportunity to talk to the hand is too good an opportunity to pass up on, so I’m going to right on ahead and book…

      FYI, sorry I only just posted your comment, but it went into my SPAM folder, I guess your marketing campaign is all spiced ham in a can… Here was me thinking your background was in tinned sardines!?

  2. Dear Partner of a Pilot,

    As I’m sure you know, the airline business today bears some resemblance to the Spiced Ham of our past… it’s all about canned meat! Yes, my background is in sardines and I kind of miss the old days… sardines smelled so much better than some of the “self loading meat” I now deal with.

    Regards,

    Robert E. Coli
    CEO Thromby Air –
    http://www.thrombyair.com


Leave a Reply

