Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Dust-to-dust, Ashes-to-volcanic ashes… Lonely times continue.


Life still sucks.  Bf is still stuck in Asia because of this volcanic dust cloud that’s decided to linger in European airspace; and by all accounts is having a ball of a time, which is irritating the hell out of me.   Yesterday, he had to go in his uniform to a hotel where some of his airline’s passengers were staying and talk to them to reassure them about what was happening, and give them some explanation.  He was dreading it, especially as he had drawn the short straw of going alone (the rest of the crew, bar a few were going in pairs).  He thought he would be greeted by a lot of angry people… He is quite an understated person, and not fond of drawing attention to himself in a crowd, but instead as he said

They were so appreciative, grateful that the plane’s pilot had come to speak to them in person. They were hanging off my every word! It made me feel so great, like a hero or something!

Ugh! Just what I wanted to hear… NOT!  I told him I was proud of him, and made all the right noises, but explained that him having people ‘hanging off his every word’ whilst he’s in uniform, is like a nightmare to me at the moment, because I feel so low… I need him to come home and be MY hero!  Screw these randoms!

Then today, he went off to some elephant sanctuary.  He was able to get in a pool with the elephants and help wash them, and then the elephant filled it’s trunk up and washed him back. I am jealous. I am having the worst time of my life, and he is having the time of his life. I am as jealous and bitter as can be about it!  I would give anything to be with him.  When I got upset on the phone, he tried to cheer me up… Said he was fed up with being stuck out there and missing Baby’s birthday.  All the crew are desperate to get home, one has missed a wedding that her husband was the best man at, 2 others are meant to be going on holiday, and they are all just generally fed up.

I agreed to postpone Baby’s birthday until Bf gets back. She is only little (this is her 3rd birthday) and although she keeps asking me if it’s her birthday now, she seems to be okay when I tell her it’s her birthday ‘when Daddy gets home’.

Luckily, some nice pilot wife friends rescued me yesterday. One of them turned up out of the blue at my door step and spent the day with me, and then we went to our other friend (who’s hubby is also trapped down route)… So I was able to be with people who understood what I was going through, and who managed to make the day happy for me and Baby.

Bf was going to ring me in the morning to let me know whether he was taking off or not, but I have just seen that the flight Ban has now been extended until Monday night, and if you believe this article by Yahoo, the volcano could continue to erupt for as long as 2 YEARS!  I am just hoping that he gets home in time for my father’s UK memorial service at the end of this week.  It’s been a week since I saw him today, and I really have never needed his support more than I do at the moment.  I really don’t want to go to say farewell to my Dad once and for all without him at my side.

Just thought of this song again… Video just made me cry, not that it’s particularly hard at the moment. GOD I MISS MY DAD… AND MY PILOT 😦

3 Responses to “Dust-to-dust, Ashes-to-volcanic ashes… Lonely times continue.”

  1. I feel for you right now… While we aren’t included in the flight restrictions, we have been there when Mt. Redoubt erupted last year… It is very hard not knowing when you’ll get to see him again… Sometimes, that is worse than the separation, the not knowing when…

    I also understand the need for him there for the memorial service… I will be attending my grandmother’s memorial service in a week and a half… My husband told me yesterday that he got in an argument with one of the other pilots the other day and the other pilot quit over it – which might affect my husband’s already-approved time off… I broke down and cried when he told me that… He wasn’t able to come home to comfort me after I heard that my grandma had passed… If he is unable to come and support me at the memorial, I will be very upset… Probably upset enough to give the owner of his company a piece of my mind…

    Hang in there. I’m thinking of you.

  2. Aww I can understand how you feel, it is hard being the one left at home I know that! At least you have the children with you to keep you occupied. It is always nice to know your other half is missing you so when they appear to be having fun without you it definitely causes resentment! I think it’s good that bfs airline are making efforts such as that to keep pax happy,it was a good idea and can definitely make a difference in this climate to have good customer service! Let’s hope the reports today are right and some flights make it back to the UK tomorrow, as the partner of an airline employee I am lucky he is home but don’t like to think of how much this is costing so will be relieved when they’re up and running again!

  3. I really feel for you, there is nothing worse when you need somebody and they can’t be there…especially when the factors stopping it are outwith your control. I don’t know how you do it, but you do it lovely and I think the time is coming where you need lots of lovely stuff to happen to you. I am off to plot…. 🙂
    Lots of lovely love. xxx


Leave a Reply

