Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Pilot Partner Friends


Bf is away all week this week on a long-haul trip, and I’m horriribly ill with a chronic condition that I have which has flared up. I’m on nasty medication that’s making me sick and my mum couldn’t come until late yesterday afternoon…

These things have a knack of happening when Bf is away, sods law. I have been unable to stand or eat, and my family are 2 hours away. Plus my mum has been out of work for a year now, and had an interview yesterday; so I didn’t want to ask her not to go to that. It was so bad that I’ve had my 10 year old taking and collecting my 6 year old from school, and on tuesday, I considered asking his school to let him home to help me with my 2 year old because I couldn’t get out of bed to watch her or prepare food for her… I had literally just crawled downstairs, put the TV on, given her a banana, blocked the cupboards with things like bleach in them from opening, and got back to bed, but I felt unable to rest properly as I was so anxious about leaving her unsupervised..

When my boys got home, they played with her and my 10 year old cooked dinner for the three of them under my instructions. I really was so thankful that I have such wonderful loving, well behaved children. I felt awful letting them see me like this.

Last time I had this, I was in hospital, and yesterday I was on the verge of calling for an ambulance because I felt so awful and just wasn’t coping. Then one of my friends turned up at my door to help out. I had spoken to her the night before as her pilot is also on a long-haul trip this week, and we were going to meet up. She had told me to ring if I needed anything. I had almost picked up the phone several times, but fought off the urge as she lives 45 minutes drive from me, and I didn’t want to put her out… But bless her, she knew me well enough to know that.

I had been in tears before she walked in, and it was such a relief to have help! She said “I thought I’d just come over, I didn’t want to ring in case you were said no out of politeness.”

I was so touched by her kindness and generosity! I was able to go and have a bath, and lay down without being anxious about Baby.

The thing I find so amazing is that i only met this friend on-line about 6 months ago in a group for Pilot wives and girlfriends and in that time she has become a very close friend. I felt so much better just to have her there and have company, and it was actually very soothing just to have the distraction of conversation when I was able to lay downstairs. She stayed all day, and helped with the kids even after my mum had arrived.

It made me so grateful to have been able to meet other women who understand this lifestyle and support each other. Since last night, two more friends I made in the same group have also phoned and text me offering to help!

I can honestly say that the friends I have made through joining that group, and writing this blog are some of the best friends I have in the world, and a ray of sunshine on a rainy day.

15 Responses to “Pilot Partner Friends”

  1. I am so glad you had somebody who came over to help you out! You are a wonderful person who would do that for any of her friends….therefore it is always nice to see that kindness comes full circle.
    I do hope you feel better soon, you poor sausage 🙂 xxxxx

  2. I am so glad you had a friend to come over to help you out. That is so rough to be in that situation and have the BF gone. I always tend to get sick when my hubby is gone and then my in-laws down the street get sick too, and then I am stuck with watching my 2 yr old while feeling sick and having no strength to stand. I am sure what you feel is worse, since its a medical condition you are dealing with. But I feel your pain to some degree. I wish I lived near you to help you out too. I totally would if I could! xoxoxoxo hugs and kisses to you, hope you start to feel better soon!

    • It’s been horrid, but thankfully Bf is back now… Though, to be honest, I think mum’s are always the best care providers when you are sick… Bf keeps telling me to get up and move around as he is of the mindset that laying in bed wont help me.

      He was quite sweet yesterday though. He sat on my bed playing his guitar to me softly, which was fine until he decided to play his favourite one to me 6 times. I felt like smashing the damn guitar over his head! HAHA

  3. Hi Partner

    Very sorry to hear you are unwell and I wish you a speedy recovery. How kind of this person to step in, un-asked and help you out. I think its lovely that this group has brought people together in this way.

    Take care and feel better soon,
    Jem

  4. Us pilot partners need to stick together! One of my biggest emotional supports in ATL was another pilot wife who I’d also met online when I lived in DTW. Even in ATL we lived 45 minutes away from each other, but I loved the time I got to spend with her. We text each other, just to make sure the other one is coping.

    And I must say, you were my favorite one I’ve met all year! We’re already talking about coming back next year 🙂

  5. Sorry to hear that you’re not well. Must be very hard with 3 little ones and a house to run. I am glad that you have people to look after you though. Hope you get well soon x

    • Thanks Debs, It’s been very hard and tbh, the house is the least of my worries. The kids were my main concern, but they’ve been little darlings!

      I am just today starting to feel better. I ended up in the urgent treatment room at the hospital last night and they changed some of my medications over…

      Whether it was that, or whether I just turned the corner, I’m not sure, but I do feel more human today 🙂

  6. Oh my godness how terrible!
    So sorry that you ended up in hospital, you don’t deserve that at all! Hope bf looked after you there and so glad you are starting to feel better, you can start to look forward to Xmas now 🙂

    Sounds like the boys are angels, they are a credit to you!x

    • Thank you Debs, I didn’t need to stay in or anything thankfully… It was more a case of it being because it was out of hours. I hope I am better in time for Christmas… Actually I am rather hoping to be better in time to meet a bunch of the pilot wives and girlfriends I met on line next weekend!

      Fingers crossed!

  7. aww even so, not nice! Wishing you a speedy recovery so that you can enjoy your night out x

  8. It’s awful when things like this happen and there is not enough support around you. It must be hard with 3!! I know it’s difficult to accept help sometimes when it’s offered, but make sure you take it! Hope you get better soon xx

    • Thank you alwaysthewrongmen, that is very good advice. Sometimes I am probably too proud for my own good. I’ve always blamed it on being British, but maybe I am just stubborn! 😉


Leave a Reply

