Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

I love being pampered, and Skype is the icing on the cake.


I’m still in France, I feel like I’m going to need to be crane lifted out of my muum’s house after her gourmet culinary treats, and I don’t even care! I feel SO relaxed.

Bf is way accross the other side of the globe. Neither of us is in our home country, but I’m only paying 5 pence per minute to speak to him! If he were able to get a reliable Internet connection of a decent speed it would be free, but as it is, I can still ring his hotel land line for next to nothing… I honestly don’t know how pilot wives coped before the days of cheap modern communications solutions! 

I am in bed listening to the gentle snuffling of Baby’s ‘snoring’ from her travel cot next to my bed… It is so special looking at her sweet innocent face and hearing her little snuffly snoring-and was able to share that with Bf tonight… It really is wonderful to share things like that with him even when he is in a time zone 7 hours different to mine!  We spoke earlier purely so that he could have a chat with his baby girl, and tonight (well, tomorrow morning for me), he’ll call to say ‘goodnight’. 

None of this would be possible if we were relying on exorbitantly priced standard International telephone call rates.  I love my man, and I feel completely chilled out and spoiled, saying goodnight to Bf is the icing on the cake 🙂

6 Responses to “I love being pampered, and Skype is the icing on the cake.”

  1. I’m glad you get to spend Easter with your mother, and that you can be in touch so easily with Bf. Taylor got called out on a 3 day trip, leaving at 5:30 am this morning. I was so looking forward to spending the day together, but alas…we’ll just talk on our phones. Sad thing is that he’s done for the day at 1:30 pm, and doesn’t leave again until 10 am Monday…but I looked at flight loads and it’s not worth trying to meet up with him on a Sunday. C’est la vie.

    • Aw sorry that your plans were scuppered 😦

      Still, I guess that’s the price we pay for falling for pilots-DOH!

  2. Hello, I’m so happy to hear of another happy Skype user, who also happens to be a pilots partner/wife. My husband is on his way home today from Hong Kong, but we logged over 4 hours on Skype while he was away.

    Hope your Easter Sunday was blessedly perfect!!

    Lori Lamb
    Peoria, AZ
    http://www.skype.com/share/stories/high-flight/

    • Hi Lori, that’s cool!

      Bf and I have even fallen asleep together on Skype once when I was feeling quite down. It was lovely, I could hear him breathing and it was the closest thing to having him in the bed with me to give me a hug.

  3. Hi girls,

    I just found this blog, and it is great. my bf is a pilot and is away on 3 weeks flying and back 3 weeks. Its a nice contract but when the second week approaches, it gets a bit lonely and I cant wait for him to be back.

    This bitter sweet life has its merits and Im glad to read all your postings.

    We use skype too, and thank god for that… but sometimes the time difference doesnt allow for very long conversations,

    ta,

    • Hi AudreyH,

      Thanks for your comment. I know a few pilot wives who have a similar set up to what you’re describing… It is hard to be apart for so long. Have you joined any of the pilot wife & girlfriend groups? I can recommend some good ones if you like?


Leave a Reply

