Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

My purely consumerist wish list


So, um, this is a bit of a random blog entry, not remotely to do with the world of aviation on this occasion-but it’s my blog so deal with it! 😉 Why is it that when I have spending money burning a hole in my pocket or it’s coming up to Christmas etc, I can’t think of a single damn thing I’d like, and then when I am broke I see lots of things I feel I want and need?! Here is my current wish list, my purely consumerist wish list (none of my emotional ideals included since I’m working on reviewing these right now):

  • A Nintendo Wii Fit, it just seems fun, and Karen’s blog has me hankering after one even more!
  • A pair of these super cool Skechers Shape Ups; but they’re about £80-90!

I hadne’t even heard of them until last week!  They actually give you a work out whilst you walk by simulating the feeling of walking barefoot in the ground!

Here’s the blurb I found:

How it works
Designed to improve your life by changing the way you walk, Shape Ups feature a unique, soft kinetic wedge insert and dynamic rolling bottom to simulate walking barefoot on a giving surface that gives, such as sand.

With the comfort of Shape Ups, you will feel your heel sink to the ground as you step, roll forward as your weight shifts to its center, and push off with your toes. This movement will result in stronger leg, buttock, back, and abdominal muscles as you stabilize your steps.

Due to this unconventional matter of walking, we suggest that you moderate your walking routine in Shape Ups for the first week or two (25 to 45 minutes per day), depending on your level of fitness. As you continue to wear Shape Ups, your body will adjust to this new method of walking. You will find it easy and comfortable while still enjoying the strengthening and cardiovascular benefits.

Shape up while you stand

Conventional footwear does not provide proper support or aide in correct posture for long periods of standing. With Shape Ups, the simulation of soft ground will ease the stress on your joints, promote correct posture, and strengthen selected muscles as you naturally work to keep your centre of balance.

To properly stand in your Shape Ups, stand upright and find your center of balance with your feet parallel and hip-distance apart.

Shape up while you walk
To walk correctly in Shape Ups, step forward with the middle section of your heel hitting the ground first. This should give you the feeling of walking on soft ground. Roll forward onto the ball of your food and then the flat part of your toes.

Your stance should not be as wide as you walk. Your front foot should still be under your body, giving you a natural and comfortable step. This rhythmic and easy gait will help you maintain your balance. For maximum benefit, strike heel first. Then roll forward.

  • An iPod nano. I know, I know! I must be the only person in the world without an ipod!

  • an iPhone 3G. I got the Samsung Omnia, assured that it was far superior, and the specification certainly is, but I just like the usability and the better screen sensitivity of the iphone. Plus it has a lot more fun applications, and I’m told that the web access is improved.  If only I could get it on a network OTHER than O2 who are rubbish, I would be happy. This one may have to wait a while though since I only recently renewed my contract.

So that’s my consumer moment over for now. I’m sure I could easily think of more to add, given time though!

10 Responses to “My purely consumerist wish list”

  1. I love my ipod Nano! I discovered yesterday I could put photos on it. I know, I can’t believe I’ve had it since Christmas and only just figured that out…

    • HAHA! I don’t even own one and I knew that! Did you know you can also put applications on them-like brain training?

  2. I love the shoes!! I have seen another brand that do very similar shoes some time ago but the name escapes me! Can’t believe you don’t own an ipod lol! I have a nano, one of the lower memory ones I think it was around £100 and it was well worth it and holds plenty for what I need. I couldn’t do the gym without it!

    • Were the shoes you saw called “The Masai Barefoot Technology or MBT shoes”? Those are the only others I can find, but I’m not as keen on them.

      Oh and regarding the iPod-I know! My phone is an MP3 player, but I still don’t own a ‘proper’ decent one. I bought Bf a classic iPod a few years ago, quite a large one, something like 80GB, and he downloads films, applications, home videos, photos, as well as music to it.

      If there is a film I don’t fancy watching with him (like Final Destination 4 or whatever that funfair one was) I buy it on DVD and he’ll download it onto his iPod to watch in his hotel whilst he’s away on a trip…

      When I first got it for him, it was the ‘top of the range one’ and he thought I might have wasted my money, but it’s become his lifeline on days where the weather is poor or he is stuck alone in a boring hotel airport!

  3. OMG I love my WiiFit! Get one 🙂 So much fun and I’ve recently learned to love it all over again by adding some fun new tunes on my ipod. Ok, not a nano… but still- you could have the best time if you combined the wiifit and the nano!

  4. Check out http://www.earthfootwear.com. Built with Kalso Negative Heel Technology, its just like walking on an inclined treadmill. And with tons of calorie-burning and muscle-toning styles to choose from, there is something for everyone. Skip the gym and get a workout doing everyday activities!

  5. You need an ipod, especially when working out!! 🙂 I get so bored on the treadmill if I don’t have my music! Itunes gets addictive though! 🙂

    • Hi Rachel, I’ve never known any different when excercising, as you could never really run with a CD player.

      My gym pumps out really loud music anyway-so I’d probably end up with tinitus if I had to compete with an ipod unless I had some decent noise cancelling headphones


Leave a Reply

