Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Want to spend a penny? Ryanair will charge you a pound!


Oh my goodness! I HAD to blog. I just read the most insane news story on Yahoo news.  Budget airline, Ryaniair’s Chief Excecutive Michael O’Leary told BBC television on Friday:

“One thing we have looked at in the past and are looking at again is the possibility of maybe putting a coin slot on the toilet door so that people might actually have to spend a pound to spend a penny in future.”

He said this would not inconvenience passengers travelling without cash.

“I don’t think there is anybody in history that has got on board a Ryanair aircraft with less than a pound.”

Well I can tell him now I have! I have ocasionally travelled without any cash; or if it’s a connecting flight, I’ve travelled with only foriegn currency in my wallet! Also, what about the poor families with young children, ESPECIALLY toddlers: who in my experience want to try out every different type of public toilet! What about someone eho needs to change a baby? I’m sure most single passengers or business people could plan their rest toom breaks to avoid the need, but a child cant. Actually if I am honest, this seems like a stealthy way of ripping of families to me-they must know that the ones that will least be able to afford it, are the ones that will pay the most!

“We’re all about finding ways of raising discretionary revenue so we can keep lowering the cost of air travel,” he said.

Okay, respect to streamlining operations, and check in procedures, etc Michael; but seriously: charging me £1 to visit the loo? This is a rip off, and a step too far as far for me, and I will personally vote with my feet!

10 Responses to “Want to spend a penny? Ryanair will charge you a pound!”

  1. so suppose I don’t have a pound and decide to spend my penny in the aisle?

  2. Well I for one would not leave Baby in a stinky nappy either-their little bottoms get so sore otherwise. If I was caught short without my pound, or had spent all my pounds already on the numerous trips that the boys would be guaranteed to make, I would change baby in the galley!

  3. Good point notesfromthemargin! I think that would be the danger!

  4. Yet another desperate bid by O’Leary to get some free publicity!!, I can’t believe this story is headline news on the BBC website! I think the media should have a blanket ban on him, than he might stop making such ridiculous statements. Let him pay for publicity, he can afford it after all. Surely it is against a human right to be in a confined space and be forced to pay to relieve myself. It’s not like I can pop behind a bush when I’m 38,000 feet up in the air…………….. No, it’s never going to happen, if it does, well, I’ll just have to pee in my seat.

  5. This suggestion has been around for a while (typical crappy reporting!!) 🙂 O’Leary is such a publicity hungry man I suspect part of this is just shock value.

    I met him once, and he was wearing a women’s swimming costume for a photo shoot. With his hairy legs out. Lovely!!!

  6. Oh I seriously would be changing my baby (if I had one) in my seat or something. What a joke! Fine for the people who may need to pee once on a flight- but what about people who are sick or soemthing? I caught some nasty bug in italy on vacation and was sick for over a week and had to go to the hospital even. Would they charge me for my frequent trips to the bathroom? I’d just sit in the toilet the whole time and not come out.

  7. No way! The cheapskates really have earned that nickname ‘Ryanscare!’.

    • Yes Kez, the management are most certainly doing it’s level best to turn the brand into a desperate farce. It’s their calendar that really makes me chuckle! Not doing much to help the jokes about Irish logic with this move though-are they?

  8. […] you just love Ryanair After my previous post on Ryanair further down (Want to spend a penny? Ryanair will charge you £1), I just thought you might enjoy this tongue-in-cheek joke my dad sent […]

  9. AND in a further development Uncheery O’Leary the pench pinching thiefy has said this (check out the full story on Yahoo news http://uk.news.yahoo.com/18/20090324/tod-ryanair-chief-defends-on-board-toile-7f81b96.html)

    “I think it’s a logical development, if you use the toilet for example in train stations in England you pay to use the toilets. I don’t see any reason why people on board an aircraft wouldn’t pay to use the toilet.”

    He said the on-board charge would mean more passengers would use the toilets at airports, and would lead to “less passenger inconvenience on board the aircraft.”

    “We will charge for every possible thing we can think to charge for, but it will always be the passengers’ choice whether they pay it or don’t pay it,” he said.

    O’Leary said the company is now running an online competition to see what else the carrier can charge for on board.

    “The suggestion I like best so far is a passenger in Sweden who has suggested that we should produce rolls of toilet paper with my picture on it.”


Leave a Reply

