Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

This SUCKS!


So Bf’s flight is already delayed by 6 hours; it’s not lookig so good for our 5 year anniversary dinner reservation.  I feel ill, and right now I am cursing his sodding job.

8 Responses to “This SUCKS!”

  1. NO FAIR! I have my own bad news. Taylor just got called out for a 5 leg trip a few minutes ago. He’ll only be logging less than an hour of block time, and deadheading and ferrying the other flights. He’ll be gone until 9:00 pm tomorrow night. He’ll get home just in time to kiss me goodnight on my birthday. No special dinner. AND he won’t be able to clean up and prepare for the party on Friday.

    We’ll have to have our own date tonight 🙂

  2. Ew, that does suck. Never seems to fail…. just when you want them home!

  3. still waiting for my pilot to come home m..m ….

  4. Liek Cpt J’s wife said you want them home the most something comes up. Last week we went to DH’s base while he was on reserve. He was on reserve the week before, never got called. When my daughter and I go with him…Yup…He got called for an overnight, so he didn’t even get to stay at the hotel with us!

  5. Thanks everyone. Happy anniversary. He’s now 9 hours late! He’ll get home at 5pm, having had 3 hours sleep in 27 hours!

    Bless him though, he told me that he wants to go out and celebrate regardless, even if it’s just for a few hours!

    He’s going to have a few hours sleep and then go out with me… Whether it will happen or not, I don’t know.

  6. oh dear it sucks , hope he makes it, even if it is only for a couple of hours. Really thinking of you. And happy anniversary to you both. 🙂

  7. Aww it does suck and it reall gets in the way of life sometimes!! Sweet of bf to still go though. Hope you have a wonderful 5 year and let us know how it went x

  8. Hi, I just came looking for some advice or maybe the need to feeling like I am not so alone in my situation. I have been the wife of a pilot now for 11 years and it just doesn’t seem to be getting any easier. My husband is away most of the time as he also has to commute to another city for his job. So, now I wont get to see him for two weeks this time around. Then when I do he is only home for one day. and gone again for another 5 days. Normally I can deal with it…but right now I am dealing with a major health issue and I am alone. I just wished it was easier. Any suggestions? Thanx


Leave a Reply

