Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Come Home, I miss you…


Well, I was just watching music on the the television, and Home started to play, by Westlife…  I had never seen the video before and I’m not too ashamed to say that it made me cry like a baby!  I cannot remember the last time I missed Bf  THIS much!  Here is the video.

The video sections that really left a lump in my throat, and tears in my eyes were at: 0:19 seconds and 0:34 seconds…  The pilot scenes. The lyrics are obviously quite sentimental too…

Another summers day, has come and gone away
In Paris and Rome, but I want to go home,
May be surrounded by, a million people I-still fell alone,
I just want to go home, I miss you you know,
And I’ve been keeping all the letters that I wrote to you:
Each one a line or two, I’m fine Baby, how are you?
Well I would send them, but I know that it’s just not enough,
The words were cold and flat, and you deserve more than that.

Another Aeroplane, Another sunny place, I’m lucky I know
But I want to go home, I’ve got to go wo home
Let me go home? I’m just to far from where you are…
I’ve got to come home, Let me go home,
I’ve had my run, Baby I’m done, I want to come home.

And I feel just like I’m living someone else’s life,
It’s like I’ve just stepped outside, when everything was going right.
And I know why you just could not come along with me:
‘Cause this was not your dream;
But you always believed in me,

Another winter dream, has come and gone away:
In Paris and Rome,
but I want to come home,
I miss you, you know…

Let me come home, I’ve had my run
I want to come home, Let me go home.
And I will be alright, I’ll be home tonight:
I’m coming back home

I wish he was home. 

We had only just spoken on Skype via web-cam. I had ‘eaten my supper with him’ and watched him getting ready to go out and eat his (I am eating a very late supper, yes).  He was acting like a total dork, and ‘stripped for me’ but in the most incredibly ridiculous and unsexy way! He was running around like a character from Monty Python’s ministry of silly walks and I was in stitches!

It made me miss him even more though.  I miss his silly sense of humour and his daft behaviour.  By the time he was all ready to go out, he was looking particularly yummy, and I just wanted to throw my arms around him and breathe in the smell of his aftershave; and kiss him. He unwrapped his present from me on camera so that I could see his reaction, which was great. 

I had a lump in my throat as I said goodbye, and he told me that he feels the same, that he misses me especially so for this trip too;  There are several crew on this trip who have been on trips with us together. They’ve been asking after Baby and I and he said that it is making him home sick. He said he is ready to come home now

I think I was feeling particularly vulnerable by the time I saw the video, because on top of missing him, the UK is having it’s worst snowfall in 18 years…  The BBC reported today that:

Air travel has been badly affected.

All flights at Heathrow Airport near London have been cancelled until 1700 GMT and customers whose flights have been cancelled are being advised not to come to the airport.

Earlier a plane slipped off a taxiway at Heathrow due to the snow and icy conditions.

Passengers aboard the Cyprus Airways flight were unharmed.

The British Airports Authority said the front wheel of the plane landed in the grass area and they were in the process of removing the plane.

  • The northern runway at Heathrow remains closed. All flights from Heathrow Terminal 5 have been cancelled.
  • London City, Luton and Southampton airports are closed. Norwich and Leeds Bradford airports have now reopened.
  • BAA has warned passengers travelling to and from Heathrow and Stansted airports to expect “significant delays and cancellations”.
  • BAA Scotland said four flights from Glasgow to Heathrow and London City were cancelled and one to Cardiff.
  • BA says it has cancelled 65 flights, while 73 Ryanair flights are grounded.
  • Gatwick is open, although fewer aircraft are able to take off. Some 23 flights had to be cancelled and 18 diverted to other airports after Gatwick closed its runway for two hours on Sunday evening.
  •  The weather is also set to continue:

    Some parts of London saw up to eight inches (20 cm) of snow.   The BBC’s Alex Deakin said northern England, especially the Pennines, could see between four and 12 inches (10 and 30cm) on Tuesday.

    I just checked the 5 day forecast for our area on the BBC, and Thursday is looking like snow with visibility ‘very poor’. 

    Thursday is the 5 year anniversary of when we got together on-line, and he has booked a night out for us, I cannot stand the thought that he might not be able to come home to me to celebrate.

    Please God he makes it back on time!?

    10 Responses to “Come Home, I miss you…”

    1. I knew I should not have watched that video! I’m missing DH something awful tonight too! You’re not alone!

    2. I’m sorry. Though I am glad I’m not alone!

    3. Oh Partner of a Pilot

      This made me cry too…especially because Ive never seen this version though! Its just an amazing song..

      Thanks a bunch

    4. Thursday is your anniversary, and also my birthday. How sweet of you to commemorate me by a special night at a hotel. haha

      But I do understand the lonely feeling. I’ve been feeling it a lot lately. It even permeates into the time that Taylor’s home. I hope the weather clears up and David is able to make it back in time.

    5. I think it is a beautiful thing when music and lyrics can incite an emotional response in us… Yes, that means I cried too… It is such a beautiful song and the video fit perfectly…

      Another video that gets me is “Goodnight Sweetheart” by David Kirsch… It’s 90’s country, but it also takes place on a plane. I have that song in my media player, and when it comes up on the playlist, I always stop what I’m doing and think about my hubby, even if he is just downstairs. The benefit to that is that I can go down and hug/kiss him. But now, not so much…

    6. Oh honey. I am with you on all of that!
      I am currently struggling with the fact that I have only just allowed myself to realise that weeks may go by before we talk! Argh.
      I really hope he makes it home to you in time for your anniversary. Fingers and everything crossed for you!xx

    7. I know if seems bad now, but thank your lucky stars you’re going to see him in a few days, and not in a month’s time…Trust me, that’s much worse.

    8. I will keep my fingers crossed for you that the weather will be ok so your bf will make it home as scheduled!

    9. Thanks Nicole, TripacerChick, May and Silvie,

      I hope he makes it back too. Tripacerchick I looked at that song on youtube http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JZ-26QPQKpo and the words at 2:14 struck a chord. It’s not my kind of music, but the words were very sentimental and I can completely relate to why it makes you stop in your tracks and think of your pilot.

      Flying High, I know… I’ve done the months apart thing, and it’s ridiculously hard. Thank God Skype exists these days! We just Skyped Bf (baby and I) and she is able to see him and play peekaboo etc… He teased her by offering her a chocolate on web-cam, and she was totally frustrated by it. I’m now going to have to find some other treat to calm her down! Lol. He has a wicked sense of humour!

    10. Yep, tears. Very emotional! I’m going to hope that my guy feels that way, that part about not sending the notes because it’s not enough. A girl can hope that that’s the reason he doesn’t call or write more often, right?

      I’ll need to check out the other song that TripacerChick mentioned – although, I think I’ll do that when I’m not about to go to a meeting, so that my mascara doesn’t run!


    Leave a Reply

