Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Running on the Spot!


I feel like I haven’t stopped today. Life and in particular, work has been non stop this week. I was short of work over the Christmas period, and have been desperately trying to make up for my lost income by working extra hours this month.  That’s the only downfall of my job. I wish I didn’t have to be a self-employed working mum!  I feel like I’m a jack of all trades but a master of none, as I run on the spot-just to keep up with life!  I can only describe my life at the moment at ‘hectic’!  I barely feel like I’ve seen Bf, even though he’s been off for most of the time! 

The house is in a state of complete chaos at the moment-with all the building work!  Our house is permanently full of builders, plasterers, structural engineers, plumbers, electricians, architects, etc! I don’t think we’ve ever managed to get through so much coffee, tea or milk! I feel like I’ve been a crap friend; but I have made sure not to lose sight of the children’s needs (sticking to my New Year’s Resolution).

What’s nice though, is that even though we’ve been so busy; it’s been a real treat to cuddle up together at night.  No matter how chaotic, messy or stressful the day has been; we’ve been able to unwind together. We’re a good team.  I’ve been making more of an effort to get the children fed, bathed and into bed reasonably early, so that we can spend some quality time with one another. I love that after 5 years, we are as close to one another as ever.  I couldn’t imagine my life without Bf in it.

Thankfully he has managed to secure some (short-haul) overtime this week. As per normal though, the one day we had plans for: Saturday, crewing have phoned and provided him with overtime! I could pretty much have predicted that though, so it didn’t bother me.  In future, I shall make 2 dates for every possible social diary event. That way, when crewing call, I can re-schedule it!

I’ve got a girly night out to look forward to tomorrow night, and a hen do (and obviously a wedding shortly after) too. So lots going on! January and February are never normally this busy for me!

2 Responses to “Running on the Spot!”

  1. ah what a nice post! sounds like you’ve got things pretty much under control. And things to look forward to as well. Good for you! xx

  2. Sounds like you are doing a good job with the jack of all trades bit! Nice that you have had bf at home too! Hope you hav fun on your nights out x


Leave a Reply

