Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Both tired. He’s got jet-lag, and I’m spaced out!


Bf’s away, he left last night and had an eleven and a half hour flight to operate to Asia. He was shattered by the time he’d arrived at the hotel, as although he slept in relatively late yesterday… There were builders (not ours) digging up the pavement in our road who were using pneumatic drills. So he had been up for about 22 hours straight by the time he landed.

He rang me, and we chatted briefly at about 6:30am before he went to sleep. I took my cocktail of pain-killers, anti-inflammatories and muscle relaxants then; in the hopes that I would be through the worst of the spaced-out side effects  but feeling reasonably comfortable, by the time the children woke. Then I went to sleep for a few more hours.

I really struggled to wake up when my alarm went off at 9:30am, though luckily baby was still asleep any way.

The weather outside is beautiful, so I arranged to meet with all the girls from my old antenatal group at a local farm/picnic area, so that the kids could play and get out, whilst I sat there and relaxed. It was nice to get out of the house and enjoy the sun, and just catch up with the girls; even though, with the ‘babies’ all being mobile now, it’s far less relaxed than it used to be!

I’m back home now, and need to work, but I can barely keep my eyes open! I feel totally floored and am struggling to focus on anything. Bf rang me to tell me that he’s up and just going for supper. Poor thing-his body clock must be totally whacked, as it’s 5.5 hours ahead where he is… He’s only just woken from his sleep after a 22 hour day, and now he has to get an evening meal and go to bed again.  It was nice to hear his voice though.

I’m going to try to get some work done whilst Baby has a nap and the boys ‘help’ the builders with our extension.

No Responses to “Both tired. He’s got jet-lag, and I’m spaced out!”

Leave a Reply

