Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Blogging in Cyberspace


 

Blogging is a weird thing. Here I am just writing out my thoughts, experiences and day-to-day randoms, and putting them out there into cyber space for everyone and anyone to read.  When I started I found it hard to imagine that anyone would go out of their way to bother reading what I had to say; I really started writing it because I had always kept a diary, and it seemed like a modern way of doing that.

At first I was a lot more open than I am now about what I had to say, because I guess naively, I assumed that nobody would find it or follow it. I had the option of making it private; but I have to admit I rather liked the idea that someone might enjoy it besides me.

However, over the months, I have watched the hits counter creeping up and up. Today I have over 7,700 hits I have been able to look at which search engines the hits were coming from, and I have received ‘ping-backs’ from other bloggers (not always with agreeable views to mine).

I started to feel more self-conscious, and found myself wondering who was looking at it, and what people actually thought about it. Honestly it made me feel slightly uncomfortable for a while, as though I were being watched by voyeurs.  I considered deleting the blog at one point after a friend deleted hers (for private reasons that I will not disclose out of respect).  It did make me wonder whether I should also consider it too…   However, it was around this time that I started to receive some really positive comments from people telling me that I had been of some comfort to them, and it inspired me to continue writing… I nearly always appreciate the comments I get, and am pleased to know that there are actually people who enjoy reading it. I always make sure to post comments on blogs that I read because of that.

Bf used to say that he didn’t ‘get’ the whole ‘blog thing’. He couldn’t understand why I would want to bother putting it all out there. Funnily enough though, he has been reading a few recently, and has even joked that he may start one himself… Who knows maybe some day he will surprise me and do just that!

I read quite a few blogs and am always quite inspired by the ones who use their real names, family photographs and personal details. I don’t write about anything that I wouldn’t want to put my name to, but I just get a little creeped out that I don’t know who I’m giving my name too I guess. I had a couple of bad experiences online that validated my concerns-so I choose to remain ‘anonymous’.

I recently received an email from a soon-to-be-cadet pilot and was surprised to hear that he regularly logs on to read all my posts (even the non-aviation ones)!  It really surprised me, because, for some reason, I assumed that my only regular readers were other female pilot’s significant others.  I was quite flattered actually! So I guess I am glad that I have continued to keep my blog public. I continue to play with the format of the blog and tweak little sections here and there. I am quite frustrated that I cannot add videos to my blog-I can think of lots I would like to add! Maybe I’ll pop a video links section in the right hand column soon?!

3 Responses to “Blogging in Cyberspace”

  1. yayayay, stay public! I’d be sad to see you leave. As for my real name as my web address, I really wanted to use spotty.com (spotty is my nickname). But at the time it belonged to some quilting website. And now it appears to be some flash baseball game. Who knew!? I thought long and hard about using my full name, but in the end I went w/ it. I just watch what I put out there ….

  2. Yes, please stay public. I used to read a fantastic blog called ‘The life of a pilots wife’ It was written by a London based lady and was such a support to me. I was so upset when it was taken off line.

  3. Yes stay! I absolutely love your blog…check it all the time and your views are like reading my own thoughts!
    I even have my partner read some stories!


Leave a Reply

