Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Status!


Well, it’s official! I am no longer just a mummy, or a girlfriend. I am officially back at work too! I have the laptop, mobile phone, and secure ID to prove it. I officially have a little bit of identity back that belongs solely to me. It feels strange to be connected to a working network, and email address list again.

I will no longer only be living in the working shadow of Bf again. I must admit, that whilst I am extremely proud of my children, and my man, and all that status within my family entails; that I do not enjoy being labelled as a ‘house wife’. In fact, recently, Bf had a huge giggle at my expense; when a lady tried to label me as such for the purpose of some financial paperwork. I started a bit of a quiet strop… I ended up insisting that she put me down as employed, as I technically was, being that I was actually on maternity leave.

I have nothing against housewives, or home-makers-I just dont think of myself as one. It may be to do with the fact that Bf and I are not actually married, and that I am somehow concerned that this label will make him feel sub-consciously as though this requires less effort of him. Or it may be my reluctance to feel completely dependent upon him financially.

I did feel quite pleased to re-capture the perceived independence and the financial safety net of a career of my own again. One of my managers came to set me up with my laptop today, and as we sat at the dining table talking through the programmes and operational procedures, mine and Bf’s underlying home roles were reversed: whilst I woked and Bf looked after our daughter. I think it did him the power of good to be sat in home maker mode whist I had my professional hat on.

Or maybe I am just screwed up!? πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Status!”

  1. YAY! I am so happy for you! You are not the least big screwed up – you are a strong woman once again finding a little piece of independence! It will amaze you how this will postively effect other areas of your life. Welcome back to the world of working women! πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you!!! I feel very good about it already, but your words have made my smile wider πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

