Partner of a Pilot
The Candid Diary of an Airline Pilot’s Girlfriend

Where am I!?


I just HAD to write about something that shocked me today…

I was out shopping for January sale bargains. I was in a small clothing store in the local mall, and I found a gorgeous sweater, so I went to the cash desk to pay for it.

The two women behind the desk were having a conversation about an acquaintance who had intentions to do some travelling around Europe.

1 “where’s Europe then”
2 “I dunno, is it near America?”
1 “Maybe, I’ve never been.”

Now, my Geography certainly isn’t the best, and definitely nothing compared to Bf’s with his constant flying and map reading; but even I was stunned at the ignorance of this pair, who could live in the UK and not realise that they were actually living in a country that is part of Europe!

One of them was probably about 19, and the other around a decade older at a guess. I felt compelled to inform them. So trying to sound casual and unpatronising, I said

“England is actually a part of Europe, but your friend is probably referring to Continental Europe; which is the mainland like France, Belgium, Germany, Poland, Italy, Greece, Spain, etc.”

They looked at me blankly for a moment, then one of them said

“OH! I wonder why he wants to bother going there!?”

I give up! Some people are never going to stop being ignorant, and don’t want to see past their own nose. I didn’t know whether to be amused or scared that people like this probably form the majority that live in the UK, who have the ability to have children, drive a car, and vote and therefore affect the way this country is run without having any real knowledge about where they even are!

I know I probably sound incredibly snobbish saying that, but I am completely gobsmacked that someone could leave a school in Europe, even at 16 and NOT know where Europe is!?!?

2 Responses to “Where am I!?”

  1. never under estimate the ignorance of some people… this issue pisses me off cuz im from Bahrain and no one knows where it is (and im sick of explaining)..

    but then again.. it seems easy to miss Europe on the map, haha..

  2. never under estimate the ignorance of some people… this issue pisses me off cuz im from Bahrain and no one knows where it is (and im sick of explaining)..

    but then again.. it seems easy to miss Europe on the map, haha..

    (love ur blog btw 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

